Want rice with your Chinese food?

Let me first of all say that there seems to be very little in the way of Chinese food (takeout) that has any nutritional value at all. That said, I still wind up picking at it once in a while. Today it was because that was what was for dinner at my mom’s house. 

I love Chinese food. I especially crave the Sesame Chicken that’s breaded and coated in sweet and spicy sauce. Mmm. My mouth is watering even now. 

But of course, that’s off the menu. 

So, here’s what I did tonight: My dad and I ordered Shrimp and Broccoli – not all that healthy, but at least the sauce was savory instead of sugary and it had no rice or noodles or friend things in it. Then I took 1/4 cup of quinoa (already made in this great little container my mom found at Costco) and added a few pieces of shrimp and broccoli, some soy sauce, and a couple of veggies I stole out of the lo mein container. Mixed it all together and it was YUMMY! The quinoa was the right texture to pretend to be rice, especially with the soy sauce, but it had protein and fiber, which made it worth my time. The shrimp were tiny and I think I had 3. I had maybe a bite of veggies plus 2 small pieces of broccoli. All in all, I probably ate 1/3 cup of food for about 100 calories. Not bad in my book!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,036 hits
avabyrd has gastric bypass

The amazing shrinking girl!

theworldaccordingtoeggface

The amazing shrinking girl!

Bariatric Foodie

The amazing shrinking girl!

