Operation: Cheer up

10 things I love about life since my surgery

1. I don’t get hungry – I don’t get sick feeling if I don’t eat. I don’t NEED TO EAT NOW around 3:00. If life gets in the way of a meal, it’s no big deal – I’ll just eat later.

2. My clothes fit differently. I wear smaller sizes. My old clothes fit or are loose. There will soon be more styles to choose from.

3. I can work out – and not hate it. Water aerobics? Got it! No problem! Walk a couple miles? I’m up for it! Run back up the stairs to get that thing I forgot, no biggie. Pass out papers in class? I’ll do it; you guys keep working..

4. I’m more flexible. Reach my toes? Easy. Put on shoes? Got it. Hamstring stretch? No problem. Paper on the floor? Allow me!

5. I get ALL the compliments. I mean, really, not a day goes by that someone doesn’t tell me how great I’m looking. Yesterday in the cafeteria, one of the cafeteria ladies stopped me to tell me I looked great! I didn’t even know she’d noticed! I understand when people in the know say things. And it’s nice. But it’s EXTRA nice when someone else just notices, because then I know it’s real.

6. I’m in a better mood. Most of the time. I mean, today, I’m pissy. But generally, I’m happier, livelier, and more positive. Why wouldn’t I be? I’m getting healthier, I feel better, I’m getting skinny, which is enough to put anyone in a good mood. And there’s something going on in my life that school can’t mess up.

7. I have hope. I KNOW I’ll lose more weight. Maybe not today, but I will. And not just a little, but a lot. For now, I can’t help it. I can’t make it stop, even if I wanted to for some reason. So I know that things will keep getting better for quite some time. So, maybe today sucks. Maybe I ate too much yesterday. But in a day or two, or even a week or two, I’ll be even thinner!

8. Throwing up just isn’t that big of a threat. Not that anyone wants to throw up ever. And not that it doesn’t still feel awful – worse in some ways, but what actually comes up and the duration – just not that big of a deal. I have barely any stomach acid at the moment, I can’t fit much in my stomach anyway. So puking just isn’t so scary.

9. I’m really never gassy. That is to say, I really never fart. Ever anymore. It’s almost strange.

10. I have more confidence. I can only guess that it’ll keep getting better, too. I feel more in control of myself, so I’m more in control of my class, my house (I clean and do laundry!), my life. I’m not afraid to try new things. 5k? Here I come!

 

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,043 hits
avabyrd has gastric bypass

The amazing shrinking girl!

theworldaccordingtoeggface

The amazing shrinking girl!

Bariatric Foodie

The amazing shrinking girl!

